My old nemesis is coming: the beginning of winter

At some point, frequent travelers discover they have a nemesis: an airport, city, airline, specific flight or time of the year that usually causes problems to them.

I have a friend that always have problems when traveling through Heathrow. Other that avoids one specific flight that always makes him lose the next connection. Those are their nemesis, and now I will tell you about mine.

During my early days as a globetrotter I was feeling lucky because I didn’t have a nemesis. I knew those days would be over at some point because I was seeing how my fellow travelers had at least one but i was enjoying the moment.

When I moved to Europe, my happy days without one were over. I faced him for the first time just after one month of being in the Old World. He showed himself abruptly and without previous warning: the beginning of winter.

Our first encounter was brutal. Frankfurt airport was shutdown for more than a day when I was in my way to Latin America. I tried to avoid him by changing flights but it was too late and I never got to my final destination, grounded at Paris after losing one flight after the other. There was no Stark to warn me that Winter was coming: he just came and brought ruthless disruption with him.

Winter is coming

The rest of the winter didn’t disrupt my flights much so I relaxed. When the next winter was coming I understood this was becoming personal. It was a total chaos again. My Homo Avionus life would never be the same.

Since then, everytime winter is approaching, I try to get ready for it because I know he is my nemesis. Nothing disrupts my travel plans as much as the first couple of weeks of winter and I always have important flights at that time for one reason or the other.

Now, Winter is coming. He is there, expecting me, just a couple of weeks ahead. What would he try this time? I don’t know yet but I will be ready. It will definitely be a tough battle but I will be ready for it. I have a new tactic for this winter and it it works, I will share it with you. Wish me luck.

About ignaciosb

An expat who lives in airports and works in many things at an information security company
This entry was posted in Living in Airports and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Comment